Support Midget Violence


Now I know that politically correct people don’t like the word “midget”, but what can I do when the people organizing this show and the headliners are the ones calling themselves that. Wait, I am getting way ahead in the story I am about to tell.

Me, my brother and some old Baker faithful have been going to Vegas for the first week of the NCAA tournament for a few years now. I think this was my fourth time there and we normally bet on basketball games all day and at night some of us are always looking for entertainment. When I say entertainment please take your filthy minds out of the gutter, I just mean good wholesome fun going out to bars and clubs and watching an occasional show on the strip, and not a strip show. I think you get the point.

Well, this year right before we were getting ready to go to Vegas my brother watched this sneak peek of the Half Pint Brawlers show that will air on Spike TV this year (check out the show) and that they would be performing in Vegas the Friday we would be there. After I checked out the web site I agreed with him that this would be a great way to end a weekend in Vegas. We rallied some people behind the idea and while everyone thought it was a great idea most of them wussed out the day of the event.

Puppet
This was the flyer for the event we attended

The event is a combination of dwarf comedy and little people jackass, with the headline being two of the guys wrestling backyard brawl style. There is even a staple gun in the middle of the commotion. These dudes are crazy. You can check them out on this video, which is not from last week but it gives you an idea of what happens there:

I think this is cool because these guys found a niche to promote their performance skills by capitalizing on a physical trait, this one being height, or lack thereof. They make fun of themselves but most importantly they make fun of everyone else and have a blast while doing it.

So the event would be fun for everyone, but the irony level is much higher when we have a 6 foot 9 and a 6 foot 10 dude walking around dwarfs that are about to brawl. The irony of the height differential is just something that we could not pass. At we met one of the main guys, including Puppet, the guys from the Spike TV show. They were all really funny and very approachable and loved that we were there supporting their show. They also got a kick of the height differential. This show was a blast and these guys know how to put on a wrestling match! Check out some of the photos from the event.

The Banner for the event and their website
Me and Julio with one of the wrestlers. Check how he is on the tip of his toes. Almost as tall as us on the tippy toes!
Someone is about to be body slammed!
That was not the end of the fight. By this point the fight had been pushed to the middle of the bar.
I just think this picture is cool!

So this show and the guys putting up the show are pretty cool. If you want to know more about them and check out if they will be in your area check out their website (http://www.pintsizebrawlers.com/) for tour dates and other cool stuff.

Vegas was a lot more than just this show for me and I have a few stories about my three days in the city that never sleeps. If you check my twitter you can see that I had a pretty busy week when it comes to hearing the obvious from people and also from hearing some new things that are height related. But those are stories for another time. See you all soon.

Cheers,

Dos

2 thoughts on “Support Midget Violence

Leave a comment